Conference Proceedings of ISNACC 2020

Ponniah Vanamoorthy, MD, DNB
Prasanna Udupi Bidkar, MD, DM
Prasanna Udupi Bidkar, MD, DM
Ankita Dey, MD

Ponniah Vanamoorthy, MD, DNB
Senior Consultant and Head, Department of Neuroanaesthesiology and Neurocritical Care
Institute of Neurosciences and Spinal Disorders, MGM Healthcare Pvt Ltd.
Chennai, India

Prasanna Udupi Bidkar, MD, DM
Additional Professor, In-charge, Division of Neuroanaesthesiology
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER)
Puducherry, India

Ankita Dey, MD
Senior Resident, Division of Neuroanaesthesiology
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER)
Puducherry, India

ISNACC 2020, the 21st Annual Conference of the Indian Society of Neuroanaesthesiology and Critical Care, was held January 31- February 2, 2020 in Mahabalipuram, Chennai. The conference was attended by over 300 delegates and faculty members of national and international repute (Figure 1). Preconference workshops on ‘Transcranial Doppler’ and ‘Intraoperative Neuromonitoring’ were held on January 30. This edition of ISNACC was unique with the scientific sessions not dedicated to specific topics en bloc. A wide variety of topics were discussed over two and a half days of sessions comprising of interactive discussions, video demonstrations, post-graduate (PG) symposiums, and orations by eminent neuroanaesthesiologists and neurointensivists.

Day one began with a seamless registration process and welcome address followed by the first speaker of the day, Dr. Indu Kapoor. Dr. Kapoor spoke about the current scenario of Dexmedetomidine use in pediatric neurosurgery. This was followed by an informative session on opioid free neuroanaesthesia and anesthetic challenges encountered during surgical revascularization of Moyamoya disease by Drs. Kavita Sandhu and Ajay Prasad Hishi, respectively. ‘Known Knowns and Unknown Knowns in Neurosciences’, ‘Perioperative Sleep Disturbances’, and ‘TBI Biomarkers’ by Drs. Lakshmikumar Venkatraghavan (Canada), Deepak Sharma (USA), and Gretchen Brophy (USA) were well received by the audience. Dr. Jose Suarez (USA) delivered the Dr. S. Malathi oration on ‘Comparative-effectiveness of Research in SAH’. There was an interactive lunch session on ‘Hemodynamic Monitoring’ which witnessed active participation of the delegates, particularly trainees from various institutes.

Figure 1

Figure 1: Informal gathering of hosts and speakers (L-to-R: Girija P. Rath, Deepak Sharma, Hari H. Dash, Nicolai Goettel, Martin Smith, Alana Flexman, James Hecker, Ponniah Vanamoorthy, K. J. Choudhury, H. K. Venkatesh).

A workshop on ‘Research Methodology’ was conducted parallel to the scientific sessions. Professor Martin Smith (Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology) participated in this workshop and interacted with the delegates on how best to produce a research paper. Dr. Smith also explained about the expectations from an editor of a journal. This workshop was the first of its kind and was well appreciated.

Drs. Navdeep Sokhal, Aung Shwe Saw (Myanmar), Gokul Das, Albin Augustine (UK), Gentle Shreshtha (Nepal), Girija Rath (India), Amlan Swain, Ankur Luthra, Manish Marda, and Vivek Rayadurg were eminent speakers who covered various aspects of the practice of neuroanesthesiology including stroke, sitting position, cervical spine injury, awake craniotomy, and neuro-rehabilitation. The scientific session concluded with a panel discussion on ‘Prognostication in Acute Brain Injury’ moderated by Dr. V. Ponniah and an interesting take on the use of ultrasound in neuroanaesthesia and neurocritical care by Dr. Prasanna Bidkar. The scientific sessions were followed by an inaugural ceremony and dinner. The inaugural ceremony (Figure 2) witnessed the official launch of the Neurocritical Care Society of India (NCSI). NCSI aims to promote excellence in the field of neurocritical care along with ISNACC and other international professional bodies.

Figure 2

Figure 2: Inaugural ceremony of ISNACC 2020 and official launch of the Neurocritical Care Society of India (NCSI).

Day two commenced with the PG symposium which saw residents pursuing their specialization in neuroanaesthesia in various institutes across the country take the podium and share their understanding of varied aspects of neuroanaesthesia. The session was chaired by Drs. Joseph Monteiro and Saurabh Bhargava. This initiative received a lot of accolades. It was followed by deliberations on noninvasive ventilation in the neurosurgical ICU, emergence of hyperbaric oxygen therapy in neurorehabilitation, and reversal of antithrombotics. Drs. S. Sanjith, V. Sebastian, K.N. Gopalakrishna were to the point when they discussed these topics. It generated lot of questions and an enthusiastic discussion from the delegates. (Figure 3).

Figure 3

Figure 3: The SNACC Panel comprised of Drs. James Hecker (USA), Nicolai Goettel (Switzerland), and Alana Flexman (Canada) as speakers.

They regaled the audience with their insightful lectures on precision medicine, optimal perioperative management of geriatric patients and outcomes after complex spine surgeries. The Professor Harwir Singh Oration was delivered by Dr. Martin Smith (UK) on ‘Precision Medicine in Traumatic Brain Injury: Neuromonitoring Guided Individualized Treatment Strategies’ (Figure 4). The quiz competition for postgraduates was conducted by Drs. Shobana Rajan (USA), Rajeev Chauhan, Tumul Chaudhary (Canada), and Shiv Soni (Figure 5). It generated a lot of enthusiasm among new and seasoned participants alike. Poster presentations were also held on the second day of the conference and delegates from across the country received an opportunity to share their research work on a national platform (Figure 6). Later in the day, lectures on various topics like vasospasm, choice of anesthetics, cerebrovascular autoregulation, choosing antimicrobials in neurocritical care, TCI in neuroanaesthesia, and decompressive craniectomy were well received by Drs. Tumul Chowdhury (Canada), Neil Juul (Denmark), Quirino Piacevoli (Italy), Subramaniyam S., Luzius Steiner (Switzerland), Saurabh Anand, Padmaja Durga, and Umamaheshwar Rao.

Figure 4

Figure 4: Dr. Deepak Sharma (SNACC President) as speaker and Dr. Martin Smith (JNA Editor) as the Orator for Professor Harwir Singh Oration.

Day three began with a poster presentation by the winners of the top three positions in the previous day’s poster competition. Scientific sessions encompassing a wide variety of topics discussed by noted speakers contributed to the richness of the academic program. Prof. Shobha Purohit delivered the Professor G. R. Gode Oration on ‘Meditative Mind and Brain’. The conference concluded with another PG symposium chaired by Drs. Georgine Singh and Ramamani Mariappan.

Figure 5

Figure 5: Quiz competition for postgraduates (L-to-R: Shiv Soni, Shobana Rajan, Tumul Choudhary).

Figure 6

Figure 6: Poster session with enthusiastic participants and moderators.

Back to top