The Latest Updates on Our Members

Fenghua Li, MD, Editor-in-Chief
Reza Gorji, MD, Executive Director

George Mashour Elected as a Member of the National Academy of Medicine

Deepark Sharma, MD
SNACC President-Elect

Dr. Martin Smith
George Mashour, MD, PhD
George Mashour, MD, PhD, a renowned neuroanesthesiologist and neuroscientist as well as recent past president of SNACC, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine of the National Academies, one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. Dr. Mashour is renowned for his expertise in consciousness, anesthetic mechanisms and sleep. He joins the ranks in recognition of his major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, healthcare and public health. Election to membership in the National Academy of Medicine requires distinguished professional achievement, demonstrated research impact and the ability to contribute to the Academy’s mission. A leader in our field, Dr. Mashour is actively advancing the scientific understanding of consciousness through his multidisciplinary work at the University of Michigan, which focuses on network mechanisms of consciousness and unconsciousness, as well as interfaces of sleep neurobiology and general anesthesia. SNACC is very proud of the recognition of Dr. Mashour’s ongoing contributions. Heartiest congratulations, George!

SNACC Teacher of the Year Lifetime Education Award

Dr. Martin Smith
Martin Smith, MBBS, FRCA, FFICM (left)
is presented the Teacher of the Year
Lifetime Education Award from
George Mashour, MD, PhD (right).
Congratulations to Dr. Martin Smith for his receiving the Teacher of the Year Lifetime Education Award at the SNACC 2018 Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Dr. Smith is an Honorary consultant in Neuroanaesthesia and Neurocritical Care at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, University College London Hospitals and Professor at University College London. He has a clinical and research interest in monitoring and managing the acutely injured brain. Martin is past president of the Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care and the Neuroanaesthesia and Critical Care Society of Great Britain and Ireland. He is Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology.

SNACC Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Gregory Crosby
Gregory Crosby, MD (middle) is presented with the Distinguished Service Award from Deborah Culley, MD (left) and George Mashour, MD, PhD (right).
Congratulations to Dr. Gregory Crosby for his receiving the Distinguished Service Award at the SNACC 2018 Annual Meeting. Dr. Crosby is a clinical neuroanesthesiologist, NIH funded investigator, and past president of SNACC who has broad experience at the department level and in academic anesthesia generally (e.g. ABA examiner, editorial board member, ASA committee member and chair).

SNACC William Young Research Award

Dr. Umeshkumar Athiraman
Umeshkumar Athiraman, MD (left) is presented with the William Young Research Award by William Armstead, PhD (right).
Congratulations to Dr. Umeshkumar Athiraman for his receiving the William Young Research Award at the SNACC 2018 Annual Meeting. Dr. Athiraman graduated from Stanley Medical College in India and received his fellowship in neuroanesthesia training at the University of Washington in Seattle. He is an assistant professor and program director for the neuroanesthesia fellowship in the Department of Anesthesiology at Washington University in Saint Louis, Missouri. Dr. Athiraman’s laboratory research focused on the anesthetic conditioning and the secondary brain injury after aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage (SAH) for which he has already received some support from granting agencies. His goal is to find the molecular targets for the treatment of the complications of SAH in mice and to apply these findings for the prevention of these dramatic complications to brain aneurysm patients.

SNACC Michenfelder Award

Dr. Umeshkumar Athiraman
Shanshan Wang, MD (left) is presented with the Michenfelder Award by Alana Flexman, MD (right).
Congratulations to Dr. Shanshan Wang for her receiving the Michenfelder Award at the SNACC 2018 Annual Meeting. Dr. Wang graduated from Capital Medical University and is currently a postdoctoral researcher at the VA San Diego Healthcare System. Her research focuses on how caveolin, a scaffolding protein in membrane/lipid rafts (MLRs), regulates synaptic signaling and neuroplasticity in vitro and in vivo.

Inaugural Mentors in the WINNER Academy of Mentors

Dr. Deborah Culley
Deborah Culley, MD Karen B. Domino, MD
Kristen Engelhard, MD, PhD Monica S. Vavilala, MD
Congratulations to Dr. Deborah Culley from Harvard University, Dr. Kristen Engelhard from University Medical Center of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Dr. Karen B. Domino and Dr. Monica S. Vavilala from University of Washington for being inaugural mentors in the WINNER Academy of Mentors! SNACC at the 2018 SNACC Annual Meeting started Women in Neuroanesthesiology and Neuroscience Education and Research (WINNER) program and created the WINNER Academy of Mentors. The WINNER program is to celebrate the accomplishments of exceptionally successful women in neuroanesthesiology and to support early- and mid-career women in our specialty by providing mentorship and sponsorship. Four mentors were honored and inducted into the WINNER Academy of Mentors this year.

SNACC WINNER Abstract Award

Dr. Shu Li
Shu Li, MD (left) is presented with the first WINNER Abstract Award by Alana Flexman, MD
Congratulations to Dr. Shu Li for her receiving the first WINNER Abstract Award at the SNACC 2018 Annual Meeting. Dr. Li is a resident in the Department of Anesthesiology at Titian Hospital in China. Her poster “Mannitol Improves Intraoperative Brain Relaxation in Patients with Midline Shift Undergoing Supratentorial Tumor Surgery: A Randomized Controlled Trial” was presented during poster session.  

The SNACC Abstract Travel Awards

The 2018 SNACC Abstract Travel Awards were awarded to Dr. Brian Griffiths, Mr. Orlik Andriu, Dr. Robert Ruemmler, Dr. Hideki Matsuura, and Dr. Anand Rao. The awards are given to the highest scoring abstracts submitted by student, resident, PhD candidate, or fellow. Congratulations to all awardees.

APSF 2019 Investigator-Initiated Research (IIR) Grant

Congratulations to Dr. Arnoley Abcejo for his receiving the APSF 2019 Investigator-Initiated Research (IIR) Grant. Dr. Abcejo is an assistant professor of the Mayo Clinic Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine. His grant title was “Neurocognitive Dysfunction After Anesthesia in Patients with Recent Concussion”.

New Appointments/Promotions

Congratulations to Dr. Robert Stevens from Johns Hopkins University for his appointments as Chair of the Research Committee for the Society of Critical Care Anesthesiology, as Chair of the Computational Critical Care Committee, and as Associate Editor of the journal Neurocritical Care. Dr. Stevens is fellowship-trained and board-certified in critical care medicine, neurocritical care, and anesthesiology.

Back to top