SNACC 2019 Annual Meeting - Phoenix, Arizona

Fenghua Li, MD

Reza Gorji, MD

Executive Editor

Deepak Sharma, MBBS, MD, DM (left) succeeded Rafi Avitsian, MD (right) as SNACC's President.
Deepak Sharma, MBBS, MD, DM (left) succeeded Rafi Avitsian, MD (right) as SNACC's President.
Rafi Avitsian, MD Letitia Easdown, MD, FRCPC Michael Mahla, MD

Rafi Avitsian, MD (left), Letitia Easdown, MD, FRCPC (middle) and Michael Mahla, MD (right) received the ASA-SEA Distinguished Educator in Anesthesiology Award during the 2019 ASA Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida. Congratulations!

Deepak Sharma, MBBS, MD, DM

Deepak Sharma, MBBS, MD, DM, current SNACC President from the University of Washington, has received a $1,544,107, Four-year Grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to improve patient safety in subarachnoid hemorrhage using transcranial doppler (TCD) simulation for bedside diagnosis of cerebral vasospasm. This award is for advancing patient safety through simulation research. Dr. Sharma’s team will complete the development of a simulator for training and skill assessment in performing TCD examination for cerebral vasospasm and verify the accuracy, clinical realism and clinical validity of the simulator.

Susan Vacas, MD

Susana Vacas, MD, (left) from the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, has received a $1 Million, Five-year K23 Development Award from the National Institutes of Health to develop a better understanding of what causes patients to develop delirium and long-term changes in memory after surgery. Read more here.

George Mashour, MD, PhD

George A. Mashour, MD, PhD (past president of SNACC) has been named Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and the Robert B. Sweet Professor Anesthesiology at University of Michigan effective December 1, 2019. Read more here.

Deborak J. Culley, MD

Deborah J. Culley, MD was elected as the ABA Board's President in the Fall of 2019.

Elizabeth A. M. Frost, MD

Elizabeth A. M. Frost, MD received the 2019 Nicholas M. Green Outstanding Humanitarian Contribution Award from the ASA. Read more here.

Sean Johnson-Akeju, MD, MMSc

Congratulations to Seun Johnson-Akeju, MD, MMMSc, recipient of the 2019 James E. Cottrell, MD Presidential Scholar Award.

Audree A. Bendo, MD

Audree A. Bendo was inducted into the Women in Neuroanesthesiology and Neuroscience Education (WINNER) Academy of Mentors. Her award was accepted by Deepak Sharma, MD, DM.

Back to top