Members in News 


By Jayanth R Seshan, MD, DM
Assistant Editor, SNACC Newsletter

James E. Cottrell, MD, FRCA

On 01 May 2022, the Neuroimaging Laboratory of the Robert F Furchgott Center for Neural and Behavioural Science at SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University, New York, was dedicated in the name of Prof James E. Cottrell, for his exemplary contributions. Prof. Cottrell is the inaugural Editor-in-Chief (1988-2017) of the Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology (JNA). He is a Past President (1981-82) of the Society of Neuroscience in Anesthesiology (SNACC) when it was still named ‘Society of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Neurological Supportive Care (SNANSC).’ He is an accomplished anesthesiologist and a Past President (2003) of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA).  

Arnoley (Arney) Abcejo, MD 

Arnoley (Arney) Abcejo, MD received the Mayo Fellows’ Association Teacher of the Year Award. Dr. Abcejo is an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN, USA. He is the past chair of the SNACC Communications committee and also an editorial board member of the Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology. 

Marie Angele Theard, MD 

Marie Angele Theard, MD, has recently joined as the Program Director for Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship at the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, University of Washington, Seattle, WA. Dr. Theard is an active member of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, Chair of the Membership Committee, and a Director-at-Large at SNACC Board of Directors. 

Back to top