ICPNT Update: Report of Chair and Vice Chair


Shobana Rajan, MD, FASA
ICPNT Vice-Chair

Andrew Kofke, MD, MBA, FNCS

This ICPNT Chairs’ update will report on the timeline of the ICPNT, the ICPNT executive committee members and turnover, recent progress, a summary of accredited programs, the new management team, the new modernized application, the new committee structure, educational activities, and feedback from fellows in the newsletter. Much of the material to follow was presented at the program director meeting at SNACC 2022. The slides from that presentation accompany.

  • ICPNT Timeline. The major events in the development and growth of ICPNT are summarized in table 1. We are now in our third year of accrediting activity but have been working on this for about seven years.
Table 1                                                  ICPNT Timeline
2015 UCNS application; declined
2017-18 SNACC Fellowship Task Force Forms
Multiple meetings
Charter, curricula, program requirements written
2018 EuroNeuro Presentation – Rafi Avitsian
2019 Official launch
JNA Editorial announcement
Pilot Programs
First program Northwestern
2022 Now 25 programs worldwide
New management team
Seven in progress applying

Executive committee: The present composition of the ICPNT EC committee follows:

  • Andrew Kofke, MD, MBA, FNCS, Chair, University of Pennsylvania (term ends 2023)
  • Shobana Rajan, MD, Vice Chair, University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston (term ends 2023)
  • Maria Bustillo, MD, Secretary, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York (term ends 2023)- second term
  • Jane Easdown, MD, MHPE, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Tennessee (term ends 2022). first term
  • Chanhung Lee, MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco (term ends 2023) second term. NPR chair
  • Valpuri Luoma, MBChB, FRCA, FFICM, National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, UCLH NHS Foundation Trust, UK (term ends 2022) first term
  • Tumul Chowdhury, University of Toronto, Canada (start 9/2022; Term ends 2024)
  • David Highton, Queensland, Australia (start 9/2022; term ends 2024)
  • Angele Theard, UW (term ends 2024)
  • Girija Rath, MD, DM, AIIMS (term ends 2023) SNACC Treasurer Ex officio
  • Claudia Nino, Lara Ferrario, and Leslie Jameson are rotating off the EC. Their efforts in support of the ICPNT are greatly appreciated.
  • The EC structure is depicted in this figure:

  • Accredited programs now stand at 25 from all over the world and are listed below. This international composition is a major strength of ICPNT going forward.
  • Beijing Tiantan Hospital
  • Cleveland Clinic Foundation
  • Columbia University Medical Center
  • Duke University
  • Hamad General Hospital
  • Hospital Universitario Fundación Bogotá
  • Northwestern University
  • Odense University
  • Princess Alexandra Hospital
  • George’s University Hospitals NHS
  • Technical University Munich SOM
  • Toronto Western Hospital, University of Toronto
  • UCLH NHS Foundation Trust
  • Unity Health Toronto – St. Michael’s Hospital, University of Toronto
  • Universitat de Barcelona
  • University of California Los Angeles
  • University of California San Francisco
  • University of Colorado
  • University of Florida
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Washington
  • Vancouver General Hospital
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Weill Cornell Medical College
  • New Management team. As of January 2022, SNACC and ICPNT have contracted with a new management team, IMI Association Executives, imiae.com. Lee Claassen is the new executive director. They replace Ruggles after a long affiliation. IMI brings important and needed technical capabilities to ICPNT.
  • New Modernized Accreditation Application.
    • This has taken several months to develop with the addition of IMI to lead the effort with the input of EC members.
    • This is subcontracted to Buzzhive https://buzzhivemarketing.com/ with the help of IMI in selecting a suitable contractor for this complicated task. It is now released and should be functional and user-friendly with several automated functions and retention and storage of application-related data and information.
    • Feedback from programs using this software will be appreciated.
  • Committees. ICPNT has adopted a new committee structure which should help deal with the increasing workload and provide a means for advancing strategic initiatives.

The committees follow with a brief mention of the committee mission and chair:

  • ICPNT Executive Committee
    • Chair Andrew Kofke
    • Vice Chair Shobana Rajan
    • Policy and governance
  • Communications
    • Chair: Val Luoma
    • Social media, newsletter
  • Neuroanesthesia Program Relations
    • Chair Chanhung Lee
    • Educational activities
  • Procedural Certification
    • Chair Tumul Chowdhury
    • Develop certification for discrete neuroanesthesia skills
  • Fellowship Review
    • Chair Jane Easdown
    • Accreditation, reaccreditation, maintenance annual reports
  • Research
    • David Highton
    • Oversee multi-institutional education research
  • Examination
    • Chair: Angele Theard
    • Develop and maintain questions for personal and program self-assessment
  • All ICPNT and SNACC members are invited to participate in committee work. Contact the committee chair if interested.
  • Educational activities are overseen by the NPR committee chaired by Chanhung Lee. This committee has been very active with contributions, including:
    • Monthly webinars
    • JNA collaboration
    • Chinese neuroanesthesia lectures
    • Workshops at SNACC meeting
    • Boot camp

This committee needs to develop distance simulation technology, which will require innovation and perhaps a collaboration with the research committee. Notably, we now have feedback from programs and fellows in the newsletter.

  • Online Neuroanesthesia Lecture series
    • Provided by the accredited ICPNT neuroanesthesia program in Beijing Tiantan Hospital, Capital Medical University, China
    • Comprehensive video neuroanesthesia lecture series
    • All the lectures and free and available on the website of Digital Aesculap Academy China
      • daac.com.cn
      • After logging in with an account, one can access all the lectures by typing in the keyword ‘ICPNT’ in the search area.
      • Lectures are in Mandarin, and translation with subtitles is needed. Anyone interested in providing subtitle translation would be welcomed
    • Organized by Nan Lin, MD, PhD, linnan127@163.com 林楠

Overall, these achievements and ongoing work indicate that ICPNT is making substantial progress. We expect to see its further growth as the application process, and other standard procedures become more standardized.

Back to top